By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Click here to agree to the use of cookies on our website and remove this message.

Learn More about Cookies view our cookie policy →

                      The Rosemary Evans Bequest Award 2023


Are you an early years or primary teacher?

Are you keen to reflect on your professional development as a classroom practitioner?

Are you keen to get something published in an educational journal and add it to your CV?

If so, we hope you will be interested in the Rosemary Evans Bequest Award to be given on a biennial basis to the best article received for publication in Primary First from a primary school teacher (with a UK teaching qualification) who is either working in the UK or abroad.

The award is for £800 and EITHER the theme can be selected from one of the following:

             •    What do you see as the key principles and/or values which inform your approach to learning and teaching?

             •    How can teacher retention be improved?

             •    The global teacher for the 21st century.

                  Saving the planet: what do you see as positive strategies for developing greater awareness in the primary classroom?


OR you can identify your own issue for exploration which draws directly on your experience of teaching in the classroom and your developing professional awareness as a primary practitioner. This could, for example, relate to an area of responsibility you are taking on or might be linked to a Masters level unit or might simply be an issue about which you feel passionate.


The article should be between 1500 and 2000 words and you are encouraged to select your own focus and title, irrespective of whether you select one of the above themes or opt for something different. The article should both critically explore aspects of your own experience and identity as a member of the profession and be informed, if and where appropriate, by relevant literature, duly acknowledged. The final date for submission for this academic year is 1 December 2023.

It is to be submitted electronically in PDF format to Robert Young, NAPE General Secretary at The Primary First Editorial Board will judge the submissions and it is anticipated that more than one submission may well be considered for inclusion in the journal, although not necessarily in receipt of the Award itself.


Further details about the Award can be requested from Robert Young

or found on the YouTube Video


Registered Charity Number: 289645
© 2019. All Rights Are Reserved.